The beauty in imperfections

I dared to looked at myself in the mirror today,

Naked and real.

I saw stretch marks all over my arms, stomach and thighs;

Cellulite chunked up in various body parts.

I touched my neck today, searching;

But my collar bones were hidden deep under my flesh.

I touched my face today, or rather felt it;

It wasn’t smooth but oily and bumpy (pimples) in some portions.

I looked close into the mirror, into my eyes;

Dark circles seemed to be its best friend.

My lips, not rosy or pink;

But a similar shade of brown and chapped too.

I let my hair down, which was tied into a ponytail;

And realized that it is not even close to silky and shiny.

I looked into the mirror, and this time I smiled;

Because they say that it is the most beautiful part of me.

And I knew at once, what they meant when they said it.

So, I dared to look at myself in the mirror today,

Naked and real;

And the stretch marks reminded me of how strong I am,

The cellulite reminded me of my confidence by which I carry it,

My skin and my hair reminded me of how natural a person I was and not photoshopped.

And that was why I dared to look at myself in the mirror today,

Because that is how you accept your imperfections,

Because that is how you discover its own beauty,

Because that is how you must always treat yourself,

With dignity and pride;

Because your body and your imperfections are all yours to carry.

images (5)

 

One thought on “The beauty in imperfections

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

